February 2024 Trail Days

January weather rearranged the calendar a little.  Let’s see what February gives us!  Please RSVP for dates that look good, and we’ll keep you in the loop on details.

Feb 1 (Thu) – DIG
Chimney Gap trail reroute

Feb 4 (Sun) – HIKE
Group hike to Beauty Spot

Feb 3 (Sat) – DIG
Chimney Gap trail reroute

Feb 8 (Thu) – TRASH
Nolichucky River, Chestoa Day Use Area

Feb 8 (Thu) – DIG
Chimney Gap trail reroute

Feb 10 (Sat) – GRAFFITI
Cleanup at Pinnacle/MST trailhead

Feb 12 (Mon) – BRUSH
Brushing the OVT in Spruce Pine

Feb 15 (Thu) – CROSSCUT, ROCK
Leadmine/LGT, Linville Gorge

Feb 17 (Sat) – CROSSCUT, FLAGGING
Bee Mtn trail restoration

Feb 22 (Thu) – ROCK
Leadmine/LGT, Linville Gorge

Feb 24 (Sat) – DIG
Bee Mtn trail restoration

Feb 25 (Sun) – BRUSH
Stamping Ground Trail in Unaka

Feb 28 (Wed) – HIKE
intro to the OVT in Spruce Pine

Feb 29 (Thu) – ROCK
Leadmine/LGT, Linville Gorge

January Photos!

The annual Wolf Pit Day was a big success.  Lots of work done to reduce erosion on one of the busiest trails in Linville Gorge.  Best of all, this is a great community event with a wide range of National Forest stakeholders.

 

Volunteers worked alongside Wild South’s Public Land Corps trail crew to continue rerouting the MST in Chimney Gap.   We’ll have a few more days like this in early February as well.  This project is making a huge difference!

 

Wild South’s Community Conservation Corps is a network of Southern National Forest communities working together to care for the wild places they love!